Board of Directors


Dwayne  Christopher, President

Tacoma Municipal Court Judge

Douglas Hostetter, Ed.D., Immediate Past President

Director of Secondary Education

Tacoma Public School  District

Zach Parsons, Treasurer

CPA, Manager, DP&C

Marissa Rathbone, Secretary/President-Elect

Director of Government Relations

Washington State School Directors' Association

Steve Schain, Ph.D., At Large

Retired Educator


Christal Harrison, J.D.

Attorney at Law


Amalia Perez

Family Support Specialist,

Multicultural Child & Family Hope Center

Dan Powell

Retired Owner 

Star Moving

Gayle Rieber

Retired  Educator

Lisa Wojtanowicz

Retired, City of  Tacoma

Valarie Zeeck

Attorney at Law


Willie Stewart

Retired Educator

Peggy Palmer*

Retired Educator


Executive Director

Jonathan Jackson


Outreach & Recruitment Specialists

The following members of our team are current Scholars or recent graduates who lead our outreach and recruitment efforts. Who better to help identify the next generation of Palmer Scholars than those who have been (or are currently in) their shoes?!

Bakari Headshot.jpg

Bakari Davis-Thomas

Alicia Headshot.jpg

Alicia Dorman

Reece Martin

Alejandra Vasquez

As a first-gen college graduate myself, I want to see every young person achieve their dreams and become active, giving members of their towns, cities and neighborhoods. I believe every young person has gifts, talents, and knowledge that need to be celebrated and supported to greater life purpose. No young person should believe that a life not fully lived is their only choice...and Palmer Scholars is the beginning of great things.

Christina, Director of Postsecondary Pathways


Physical Address - 2141 South J St, Tacoma, WA 98405

Mailing Address - PO Box 7119, Tacoma, WA 98417

Phone - (253) 572-9008

Email -

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn - Black Circle
  • YouTube
  • Amazon Social Icon
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn - Black Circle
  • YouTube
  • Amazon Social Icon